My First Yard Sale Re-Purpose

There was a neighborhood yard sale this past weekend so I bet you can guess where I was. =]

I snagged one of these shelves…

myfirstyardsalerepurpose… for FIVE BUCKS!!! (My neighbor got one too.) It was a little worn and weathered looking. The owner’s told us they had used it on the back porch of their previous home, so that explains the weariness. This is a solid wood piece and after I realized there was no bowing or warping of the wood in anyway I felt like five dollars was a definite steal.

myfirstyardsalerepurposemyfirstyardsalerepurposemyfirstyardsalerepurpose
Plus it had bead board on the back which I thought added a really cute look. The owner’s told us these were old Cracker Barrel displays. How cool is that?!

We were so excited to get these home to start re-purposing them. Luckily I already had some FREE paint from Ace. If you have an ACE around you, be sure to keep a close eye on their sales because I got THREE free quarts of paint. The hardest part of this remodel might have been deciding the color!

Okay, so getting down to business. I originally wanted to prime the piece but decided to just sand it. I’ve really never sanded anything before so I wasn’t sure what the after effect was supposed to be/look like. I sanded it to rough it up so that the new paint would stick nicely. It was smooth to the touch. After I sanded it I took a damp cloth and just wiped out all the dust. Then I got to painting! I used a foam brush to get into all the crevices of the bead board and then along the edges to make sure I got them covered really well. I wanted to roll the paint on the rest of it, but then I realized the foam roller I got from the dollar store was useless so I ended up brushing the paint on which ended up being okay.

Here’s a picture after the first coat….

myfirstyardsalerepurpose
I don’t know how well you can see in the picture, but after the first coat I was thinking, “what did I do!!?” I really wasn’t liking it. You could see brush strokes galore. But my neighbor told me to just keep going and that it would get better, so I did. She was right, it got better. See…

myfirstyardsalerepurposemyfirstyardsalerepurpose

You can still see the brush strokes a tiny tiny bit, but it gives it some character. Here it is on my porch…

myfirstyardsalerepurposeI still don’t know if I LOVE it. Maybe I just don’t love it on my porch. Maybe because everything on my green shelf is green. Green shelf, green candle holder, green grass and green pumpkin. I don’t have a lot of/any Fall decoration items yet so maybe if I changed some things on there I would like it more? Maybe I think the color is TOO bright? Does it look like something that should be in a nursery? It does grow on me more the more I look at it, but we’ll see what happens. I’ll leave it like this for a week or so and see how I feel about it….

What do YOU think??

UPDATE: I changed out some of the decor on the shelves and I like it a lot more now. Check it out here.

3 thoughts on “My First Yard Sale Re-Purpose

  1. I love this! You did a great job re-purposing this – that’s cool that it was a CB display in it’s previous life – it adds character! I know what you mean about the hard part being picking the color of the paint, that’s usually the hardest part for me, too!

    • Thank you!! Once the previous owners told us that they were from CB and that they had used them outside but they were still in great condition, I was sold! And for $5 what was I missing if I messed up my first repurpose!? =] The green is a little bright for my liking but maybe one of these days I will take some glaze to it and tone it down a little. It’s still looks mighty cute on my porch right now if I do say so myself =] bright green and all!

Leave a Reply

